GPU Load

[Old posts from the commercial version of ArrayFire] Discussion of ArrayFire using CUDA or OpenCL.

Moderator: pavanky

GPU Load

Postby danielpengzuo » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 pm

Hi everyone,

I got my arrayfire program up and running, and I am using GPUZ to monitor the activity of my GPU.
However, I found that the GPU load is constantly 15% during execution.

I am wondering what may have caused the bottleneck, and I would really like my GPU to run full load in order to speed up.

Thanks,
Daniel Zuo
danielpengzuo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:43 pm

Re: GPU Load

Postby pavanky » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:53 pm

if your problem size is small or if the problems are memory bound you can not utilize a lot of GPU compute capabilities.
Pavan Yalamanchili,
ArrayFire
--
~ If it is not broken, you have not tried hard enough ~
User avatar
pavanky
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:39 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: GPU Load

Postby danielpengzuo » Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:29 pm

Hi Pavanky,

My problem size is quite big and it took hundreds of seconds to finish one execution.
By memory-bound, you mean the code is taking a lot of graphics memory?

Daniel
danielpengzuo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:43 pm

Re: GPU Load

Postby pavanky » Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:31 pm

what is the size of the arrays you are working on ?

we can help you if you post the code here.
Pavan Yalamanchili,
ArrayFire
--
~ If it is not broken, you have not tried hard enough ~
User avatar
pavanky
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:39 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: GPU Load

Postby romma » Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:51 pm

Try using nvidia.smi.exe to see GPU-load. GPU-Z is buggy, doesn't even properly recognise my C2075.
romma
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:50 pm


Return to [archive-commercial] Programming & Development with ArrayFire

cron